My Journey as a Legal Nurse Consultant

[複製連結]

主題

好友

積分

超級版主

發表於 2015-2-1 16:02:50 |顯示全部樓層
My Journey as a Legal Nurse Consultant

Myname is Alice Adams, and I am a Legal Nurse Consultant (LNC) in Atlanta. Nursesoften contact me with questions about legal nurse consulting.They ask if it is a career they should investigate, and usually find conceptequally attractive and intimidating. Any good nurse can work in this field;every LNC has a unique story, and I would like to share my own journey. As LedZeppelin said, “yes, there are two paths you can go by, but in the long run,there’s still time to change the road you’re on”.
I begannursing like many of us do. I was a traditional hospital nurse – ICU,orthopedics, pediatrics, and then an outpatient nurse manager in alarge outpatient psychological practice. It was in the latter capacity that Ianalyzed and summarized medical records in the realm of workers compensation.Although I have long been out of the hospital setting, I keep up withpsychological, orthopedic, and multiple trauma treatment trends because ofthese reviews. I have performed >5000 of these summaries and am alwaysstruck by how often one physician does not know what the other is doing orprescribing. A chronology is critical to seeing a patient as a whole person rather than an injuredbody part.
Idid not see the term “legal nurse consultant” until 2005 when I came across iton the Internet. I was intrigued and began researching this field that seemedtailor-made for my background.